In Utah, misdemeanors include a category of crimes that are punishable for up to no more than one year in jail. Although misdemeanors aren’t as serious as felonies, individuals charged with a misdemeanor should still seek competent legal representation . Misdemeanors are punishable by jail time and can affect other processes in which you are involved such as divorce, custody, bankruptcy, etc. Additionally, some employers may ask if you have been convicted of a misdemeanor.
– Class A: Possible jail term of up to one year; possible fine of up to $2,500.
– Includes following crimes: Assault (with serious injury), child abuse (without serious injury), negligent homicide, stalking, etc.
– Class B: Possible jail term of up to six months; possible fine of up to $1,000.
– Includes following crimes: Assault (without serious injury), domestic violence assault, driving without insurance, DUI, possession of marijuana, and reckless driving.
– Class C: Possible jail term of up to 90 days; possible fine of up to $750.
– Includes following crimes: Disorderly conduct, driving on a suspended license, public intoxication, speeding, and traffic violations.
Based on the Class of the misdemeanor, it can usually be expunged: Class A: 5 years, Class B: 4 years, Class C: 3 years.
If you or a loved one have been charged with a misdemeanor, let the experienced and aggressive attorneys at Utah.law fight for your rights and future!